pic
pic
© Photo credit: www.depositphotos.com
December, 02, 2016

The first explorers of Baikal

When Yermak Timofeyevich made his famous march, the conquest of the vast lands of Siberia and the Far East has become a matter of state importance for Russia.

Historical documents has kept many of the names of those who first reclaimed and studied the expanses of the rich territories behind the Ural Ridge: Demid Pyanda, the discoverer of Lena; Pyotr Beketov, the founder of Yakutsk, Chita, and Nerchinsk; Yerofey Khabarov, the conqueror of the Amur Region; Semen Dezhnev, the first man who passed through the Strait between Chukotka and Alaska, and others ...

One of the most important stages in the exploration of Siberia can be considered the discovery of Lake Baikal. This natural wonder is the living history that started about 25 million years ago with the formation of the Baikal basin. Many pioneers and researchers also showed themselves here, because the Lake has always attracted people to come to it: some by the richness of nature, others with the lack of knowledge, yet others by mystery and even some mystical force.
Фотография

The Russians first came here in 1643, when the Сossack Kurban Ivanov with his squad got out of Verkhnelensky jail to the Western coast of the Lake, coming before it directly opposite the island of Olkhon. Ivanov drafted “The Drawing of Baikal and the Rivers Running into Baikal, and Lands” which was the first schematic map of the places visited by the Cossacks.

This small journey was the beginning of the rapid accession of the Baikal region to the Russian Empire. 

Already in two years the Ataman (Cossack chieftain) Vasily Kolesnikov prepared a squad of a hundred of Cossacks and went to Lake Baikal in search of silver ore, which was rumored to be abundant in these places. When he sailed to the northern end of the Lake, he founded Verkhneangarsky jail which has become a transit point for moving farther to the Trans-Baikal region and the Far East.

The exploration of the previously unknown water reservoir was in full swing: the Cossacks were able to sail to the source of the Angara River flowing out from Lake Baikal, examined the southern shore of the Lake. There they met with the powerful feudal Lord of the Northern Mongolia - Tsetseg-Khan. New fortresses and wintering places were gradually founded, local people had to regularly pay tribute (“yasak” - the tribute paid in furs).

Фото

One of the main events of those years was the foundation of Irkutsky jail on the right bank of Angara opposite the mouth of Irkutsk by Yakob Pokhabov in 1661. The place chosen for the settlement was rather nice, as Pokhabov wrote in his report to the Tsar: ... “Here is the best place fit for plowing and cattle breeding, hay meadows and fish catching – everything is near”. In 1686 Irkutsk was awarded the status of a city, it received its own coat of arms and, in fact, became the capital of Eastern Siberia.

Baikal has been inseparably bonded with this city that became its “gateway” for already three and a half centuries. Anyone who arrives in the Baikal region is sure to stop in Irkutsk. We cannot but mention the Archpriest Avvakum, a prominent Church leader of XVII century who was exiled to Siberia for his old believer’s views. In his book titled “The Life of the Archpriest Avvakum” he colorfully described what he saw on his way to the place of exile in 1650: “There are high mountains nearby, and stone cliffs are very high: twenty thousand versts (21,300 km) and even more, I have not seen anything of this kind before. The water is fresh, seals and hares are large: I never saw any of these in the ocean-sea when living on Mezen”. For the first time Lake Baikal and its surroundings were described in such detail.

A scientific approach to describe the Lake that had been known by Russians for a little more than 30 years by that time was incremented by Nikolai Spafarii. This well-educated Moldavian served the Tsar and the Russian Embassy in China in 1675-1678 and conducted his geographical research along the way. 

Фото
For example, in his journey notes he gave a detailed description of the middle reaches of Ob, its tributaries - Irtysh and Ket, as well as Angara; mentioned all major rivers flowing into Baikal, including Selenga, Barguzin, Upper Angara; described the island of Olkhon; made a correct evaluation of the depth of the Lake, pointing out that it was comparable to the height of the mountains. 
 

While crossing Siberia, Spafarii was making first measurements of the geographic latitude of a number of places with the help of an astrolabe. Generalizing the information of the explorers, the traveler made a scheme of the relief of Eastern Siberia (though it later proved to be very far from the truth), pointing to the existence of a “Great Ridge"  between the rivers of Lena and Amur from Lake Baikal to the Sea of Okhotsk.

Thanks to the findings of the first Baikal explorers, Russia gained a water reservoir with a huge significance, began to realize its natural resources potential that has been used by people until today. “Baikal-Father”, as the inhabitants of the region respectfully refer to the Lake, still keeps many secrets, which means that new generations of explorers will be able to open to us the veil of mysteries of the Great Lake on and on.

Tell friends
Related articles
pic

Shaman Stone is a rock near the source of the Angara, a natural monument of the Pribaikalsky National Park and also a sacred place of shamanists. This is one of the symbols of Lake Baikal. Only a small tip of the Shaman Stone is visible above the water, protruding to 1-1.5 meters, but a rock massif dividing the river into two parts lies under the water and, moreover, it is a boundary between the river and the lake.

pic

Baikal is of great interest to the researchers from different scientific fields. The sacred lake has been praised in the works of poets, prose writers and music composers. Film directors also did that and presented the magnificent movies with Baikal as their main character to spectators.

pic

A trip to Baikal begins with Irkutsk, the largest city near the lake, for most part of tourists. And this city is not just a point on the route: in addition to many of its interesting peculiarities, one cannot stay away from its architecture.

pic

Gold has been attracting people since ancient times. Quick and easy enrichment at the expense of this precious metal has always led people to the farthest regions of the world, such as Alaska, South Africa, Australia, and Siberia. The coast of Lake Baikal had its own deposits of gold. The works on them had been conducted for more than a hundred years from the mid-nineteenth century until 1960-s.

pic
pic
© Фото: www.depositphotos.com
2 декабря

Первые исследователи Байкала

Когда Ермак Тимофеевич совершил свой знаменитый поход, покорение бескрайних земель Сибири и Дальнего Востока стало делом государственной важности для России.

Исторические документы сохранили немало имен тех, кто первыми осваивал и изучал просторы богатейшего края за Уральским хребтом: Демид Пянда, первооткрыватель Лены; Петр Бекетов, основатель Якутска, Читы и Нерчинска; Ерофей Хабаров, покоритель Приамурья; Семен Дежнёв, первый, кто прошел по проливу между Чукоткой и Аляской, и другие…

Одним из важнейших этапов в исследовании Сибири по праву можно считать открытие озера Байкал. Это природное чудо —​ живая история, которая началась около 25 миллионов лет назад с образованием байкальской котловины. И здесь также отличились многие первопроходцы и исследователи, потому что озеро всегда притягивало к себе людей: кого-то богатством своей природы, других малоизученностью, третьих же —​ таинственностью и даже какой-то мистической силой.
Фотография

Русские впервые пришли сюда в 1643 г., когда казак Курбат Иванов со своим отрядом добрался из Верхнеленского острога до западного побережья озера, выйдя к нему прямо напротив острова Ольхон. Ивановым был составлен «Чертеж Байкалу и в Байкал падучим рекам и землицам» — первая схематичная карта мест, где побывали казаки.

Это небольшое путешествие стало началом скорого присоединения Прибайкалья к русским владениям. 

Уже через два года атаман Василий Колесников подготовил отряд из сотни казаков и отправился к Байкалу на поиски серебряной руды, которой, по слухам, было в изобилии в этих краях. Доплыв до северной оконечности озера, он основал Верхнеангарский острог, ставший перевалочным пунктом для продвижения дальше, в Забайкалье и на Дальний Восток.

Исследование невиданного ранее водоема шло полным ходом: казаки смогли на судах выйти к истоку Ангары, которая вытекает из Байкала, осмотрели южный берег озера. Там они встретились с могущественным феодалом Северной Монголии — Цэцэг-ханом. Постепенно основывались новые крепости и зимовья, с местных народов регулярно собиралась дань (ясак).

Фото

Одним из главных событий этих лет стало основание Яковом Похабовым в 1661 г. Иркутского острога на правом берегу Ангары напротив устья Иркута. Место для поселения было выбрано очень удачно, как писал Похабов в своем донесении царю: «…Тут место самое лучшее, угожее для пашен и скотинной выпуск и сенные покосы и рыбные ловли все близко». В 1686 г. Иркутску был пожалован статус города, он получил собственный герб и, по сути, стал столицей Восточной Сибири. 

И уже три с половиной века Байкал неразрывно связан с этим городом, ставшим его «воротами». Любой, кто приезжает в Прибайкалье, непременно останавливается в Иркутске. Нельзя не упомянуть протопопа Аввакума, видного церковного деятеля XVII века, за старообрядческие взгляды сосланного в Сибирь. В своем «Житие протопопа Аввакума» он красочно описал то, что увидел по пути в ссылку в 1650-е годы: «…Около ево горы высокие, утесы каменные и зело высоки, двадцать тысящ верст и больши волочился, а не видал таких нигде. Вода пресная, нерпы да зайцы велики в нем: во океане-море большом, живучи на Мезени, таких не видал». Впервые Байкал и его окрестности были описаны в таких подробностях.

Научный подход для описания озера, известного России на тот момент чуть более тридцати лет, использовал Николай Спафарий. Этот глубоко образованный молдаванин на службе у царя возглавил русское посольство в Китай в 1675—1678 годах, а по пути вел свои географические исследования.

Фото
Так, например, в дорожном дневнике он дал подробное описание среднего течения Оби, её притоков — Иртыша и Кети, а также Ангары; перечислил все впадающие в Байкал крупные реки, в том числе Селенгу, Баргузин, Верхнюю Ангару; описал остров Ольхон; верно оценил глубину озера, отметив, что оно сравнимо с высотой гор.
 

Пересекая Сибирь, Спафарий выполнял первые определения географической широты ряда мест с помощью астролябии. Обобщив сведения землепроходцев, путешественник сделал рельефную схему Восточной Сибири (хотя и очень далёкую от истины), указав на существование «великого хребта» в Лено-Амурском междуречье от Байкала до Охотского моря.

Благодаря изысканиям первых байкальских исследователей, Россия обрела грандиозный по своей значимости водоем, начала осознавать его природно-ресурсный потенциал, который люди используют и по сей день. «Байкал-батюшка», как его с почтением называются жители Прибайкалья, хранит в себе еще немало неизведанного — а значит, новые поколения исследователей будут все больше и больше приоткрывать нам завесу тайн великого озера.

РАССКАЗАТЬ ДРУЗЬЯМ
Читайте также
pic

Шаман-камень — скала у истока Ангары, памятник природы Прибайкальского национального парка и вместе с тем — священное место шаманистов. Это один из символов Байкала.

pic

Для большинства туристов путешествие к Байкалу начинается с Иркутска, крупнейшего города вблизи озера. И этот город — не просто точка маршрута: помимо многих его интересных особенностей, нельзя обойти стороной его архитектуру.

pic

С глубокой древности людей манило золото. Быстрое обогащение за счет этого драгоценного металла двигало людей в самые далекие края… На берегу Байкала были свои месторождения золота. Работа на них велась более ста лет с середины XIX века и до 60-х годов прошлого века.

pic

Судьба флота Байкала тесно связана с гражданской войной, которая захлестнула Россию после Октябрьской революции. Рассказываем о том, как был уничтожен байкальский «Титаник», который построили англичане, а также о судьбе его сестры, ледоколе «Ангара».