pic
pic
© Photo credit: www.depositphotos.com
November, 20, 2016

Sights of Baikal in Winter

The winter weather at Baikal may seem harsh to many, but not everyone knows that during the summer months, the lake has time to warm up enough that the accumulated heat makes Baikal winters mild and pleasant for walking and traveling.

Of course, that applies only to the cities that are right on the coast. However, the real Siberians would say that the real magic of the lake is revealed in the winter months, when the lake is covered with a transparent layer of ice, and the forests and mountains are sleeping under a blanket of pristine and fluffy snow. Treat yourself to unforgettable views of Baikal’s magnificent nature in winter, especially since you can enjoy some truly unique activities that become available during the season.  

Riding Across the Baikal Ice

Freedom of movement is one of the advantages of a winter vacation on Lake Baikal. There are few roads around the lake, but in winter Baikal itself becomes a solution. In February, the water turns into ice strong enough to hold a vehicle, so you can take a ride across the frozen surface and enjoy beautiful views of different parts of the lake. 
It can be safely crossed in any direction, so the activity is widely enjoyed both by tourists and locals alike. 
Фотография

For example, in summer the residents of Severobaykalsk have to travel a day by train or fly through Nizhneangarsk to get to Ulan-Ude, and in winter they simply cross Baikal diagonally.

In February, the water turns into ice strong enough to hold a vehicle.

It can be safely crossed in any direction, so the activity is widely enjoyed both by tourists and locals alike. For example, in summer the residents of Severobaykalsk have to travel a day by train or fly through Nizhneangarsk to get to Ulan-Ude, and in winter they simply cross Baikal diagonally.

However, you should keep in mind that it can also be dangerous. The local Rescue Service strongly advises against traveling over the frozen lake until February. Tourists should also refrain from tempting fate in early April, when the ice could already be thin. Usually, the main trails across the lake are set by the local MES office, so if you have decided on this journey, you should let an experienced driver accompany you and use specially designated routes. There are also tours where groups of tourists ride across the frozen Baikal on quads or snowmobiles – a trip like that will certainly be a memorable one!

Skating

It is impossible to look at the glassy surface of the frozen lake and not think of skating! In winter, Lake Baikal turns into the biggest skating rink in the world. So when you set out on a journey through the winter Baikal, make sure to grab your skates.

The winter ice on the lake is so clear that on a sunny day you can see the fish underneath, as well as planktonic algae which can grow there thanks to the sun’s rays that penetrate the ice. By the end of winter, the thickness of ice on the lake reaches 1 m., and in bays up to 1.5-2 m. The landscapes around you will be just as breathtaking as the view under your feet: in winter, icy grottos form along the shores of the lake, producing interesting and often intricate shapes.
Фотография

Ice Fishing

The locals might tell you that the best time to fish on Lake Baikal is the end of March or beginning of April, but the ice fishing season on Baikal actually starts in January, when the bays are completely frozen. You can catch the fish that the locals refer to as “Sorovaya” (from “Sor”, the spot where a bay is flooded at periods of high tide). It includes perch, roach, pike, and dace. To catch a noble fish, you have to go to the "high seas" where you can count on landing a burbot, grayling and the famous Baikal omul. It is fairly easy to cut a hole in the ice with an ice pick despite its thickness, but it has to be done at the highest possible temperatures, because the colder it is, the thicker the ice. When ice-fishing, remember the rules that apply to any time of year – watch the weather and stay close to shore.

Journey on the Circum-Baikal Railway

Фото
If you are not fond of extreme activities or fishing and simply wish to enjoy the winter scenery and breathe in the fresh Baikal air, a trip on the famous Circum-Baikal Express will be a perfect pastime for you. The route will take you from Irkutsk to the southern shore of Lake Baikal.
 

The Circum-Baikal Railway was once a part of the Great Siberian Railway from Moscow to Vladivostok. But during the construction of the local power station, part of the railway was submerged, and trains to the east ran over a different branch that had been built in advance. There is no other railway in the world that encompasses as many man-made structures as this section of the CBR. The 85-kilometer track runs through a multitude of century-old tunnels, drainage systems, bridges, retaining walls, all against the backdrop of cliffs, headlands, and rocks exposed during the construction of the railway, as well as scenic river valleys. An old train is running on the track at 30 km/h, allowing tourists to take in the beauty of the Baikal shore. You can step out at any stop and take pictures or simply close your eyes and breathe in the fresh, crispy air. Time for sightseeing may vary considerably – from 40 minutes to several hours.

Everyone who gets to visit Baikal in winter will certainly want to come back exactly at this time of year, because here you can find a real winter wonderland!

 

Tell friends
Related articles
pic

Summer is the time for travels. This time of year is perfect for visiting open-air museums, parks and gardens. This article of the “Key to Baikal” website has collected a selection of such places in Irkutsk Oblast and the Republic of Buryatia that should be visited before going to Baikal.

pic

Baikal and its surroundings present an inexhaustible treasury for those who seek new impressions. In addition to well-known tourist places, there are very special places: ecological monuments where you can meet unique plants and animals see fantastic landscapes and get a warm in thermal springs.

pic

If you want to get acquainted with the Circumbaikal railway, but you don’t know where to start, start with the most obvious things. Follow the route Slyudyanka-Kultuk-Angasolka. The first of the three railway stations are not only easy to reach. They can also show you a lot of interesting stuff...

pic

You can have a rest on Baikal in summer in different ways: fans of comfort and good service can book hotels. Those wishing to improve their health choose health resorts and tourist centres. But if you want to have a real summer adventure, then travel with a tent. This way of traveling will not only save money, but will also enable you to discover amazing places untouched by civilization. So get ready with your backpack and go! We present the 10 most beautiful and clean beaches of Lake Baikal to you.

pic
pic
© Фото: www.depositphotos.com
20 ноября

Что посмотреть на Байкале зимой

Многим зимняя погода на Байкале может показаться суровой, однако не все знают, что за летние месяцы озеро успевает прогреться настолько, что накопленное тепло делает байкальскую зиму мягкой и приятной для прогулок и путешествий.

Разумеется, это касается только городов, которые стоят на самом побережье, но истинные сибиряки подтвердят, что все волшебство Байкала раскрывается именно в зимние месяцы, когда озеро покрывается слоем прозрачного льда, а леса и горы спят под одеялом из белоснежного и пушистого снега. Поэтому не стоит отказывать себе в удовольствии увидеть все торжество зимней природы Байкала, тем более, что вы будете вознаграждены поистине уникальными развлечениями, ведь зимой на Байкале действительно есть, чем заняться.  

Поездка на машине по Байкальскому льду

Важным плюсом зимнего отдыха на Байкале является свобода передвижения. Вокруг озера построено не так много дорог, но зимой эту проблему решает сам великий и могучий Байкал. Уже в феврале вода на озере превращается в лед, по которому практически безопасно может передвигаться автомобиль. Таким образом, вы получаете прекрасный аттракцион, и возможность увидеть разные уголки Байкала пересекая озеро по льду.
Фотография

По замерзшему Байкалу можно передвигаться в любом направлении, чем с удовольствием пользуются и туристы, и местные. Например, летом жители Северобайкальска, чтобы добраться до Улан-Удэ, вынуждены почти сутки ехать на поезде или лететь через Нижнеангарск, а зимой они просто переезжают Байкал по диагонали.

Важным плюсом зимнего отдыха на Байкале является свобода передвижения. Вокруг озера построено не так много дорог, но зимой эту проблему решает сам великий и могучий Байкал.

Уже в феврале вода на озере превращается в лед, по которому практически безопасно может передвигаться автомобиль.

Таким образом, вы получаете прекрасный аттракцион, и возможность увидеть разные уголки Байкала пересекая озеро по льду. По замерзшему Байкалу можно передвигаться в любом направлении, чем с удовольствием пользуются и туристы, и местные. Например, летом жители Северобайкальска, чтобы добраться до Улан-Удэ, вынуждены почти сутки ехать на поезде или лететь через Нижнеангарск, а зимой они просто переезжают Байкал по диагонали.

Однако стоит помнить, что это развлечение может быть весьма опасным. Местная спасательная служба настоятельно рекомендует не выезжать на байкальский лед раньше февраля. Также не стоит испытывать судьбу в начале апреля, когда лед уже может быть по-весеннему тонким. Обычно главные зимние трассы по Байкалу устанавливает местная служба МЧС, поэтому если вы решили выбрать для себя столь нетривиальное путешествие, то ехать стоит только в сопровождении опытного водителя и только по специально отведенной для этого дороге. Существует также множество туров, где группы туристов отправляются колесить по ледяному Байкалу на снегоходах или квадроциклах. Такое путешествие точно станет незабываемым!  

Покататься на коньках

Отказать себе в удовольствии прокатиться на коньках по прозрачному льду Байкала просто невозможно! Зимой озеро без преувеличения превращается в самый огромный каток на планете. Поэтому отправляясь в путешествие по зимнему Байкалу, не забудьте захватить коньки.

Зимний лед на Байкале настолько прозрачен, что в солнечную погоду вы легко сможете разглядеть под ним рыбу и планктонные водоросли, которые растут благодаря солнечным лучам, проникающим под лед. К концу зимы толщина льда на Байкале достигает 1 м, а в заливах до 1,5–2 м. 
Пейзажи, которые вы увидите, когда, наконец, сможете оторвать глаза из-под ног, будут не менее захватывающими: зимой по берегам Байкала можно наблюдать ледяные гроты и набрызги, которые принимают самые причудливые формы.
Фотография

Подледная рыбалка

Местные скажут вам, что лучшее время для подледной рыбалки на Байкале это конец марта-начало апреля, однако сезон подледного лова на Байкале начинается уже в январе, когда замерзают заливы озера. Уже в январе можно поймать рыбу, которую местные пренебрежительно называют соровой. К ней относится окунь, сорога, щука и елец. За благородной рыбкой придется отправляться в «открытое море», но тогда можно рассчитывать на солидную добычу вроде налима, хариуса или знаменитого байкальского омуля. Несмотря на метровую толщину, байкальский лед довольно легко пробурить обычным ледорубом, однако делать это стоит только при максимально высоких температурах, ведь чем холоднее – тем толще лед. Занимаясь подводной рыбалкой, помните о правиле, которое знают все местные и которое подходит для любого времени года – чем ближе к берегу, тем сохранней турист.

Путешествие по Кругобайкальской железной дороге

Фото
Если вы не фанат экстремального отдыха, не любите рыбалку и просто мечтаете насладиться зимними пейзажами и надышаться свежим байкальским воздухом, то идеальным вариантом для вас станет путешествие на знаменитом Кругобайкальском экспрессе. Маршрут проходит от Иркутска до южного побережья озера Байкал.
 

Когда-то Кругобайкальская железная дорога была участком Великой Сибирской магистрали Москва-Владивосток. Но при постройке местной электростанции часть дороги затопили, а поезда на Восток пустили по другой ветке, специально созданной заранее. Ни одна железная дорога в мире не обладает таким количеством рукотворных объектов, как этот участок КБЖД. На протяжении 85 км здесь сохранились тоннели, водоотводы, мосты, подпорные стенки вековой давности, все это на фоне мысов и утесов, обнаженных при строительстве дороги скальников, живописных долин рек. Старинный поезд едет со скоростью 30 километров в час и дает возможность насладиться красотой байкальского побережья. Вы можете выходить на любой остановке, чтобы сделать фотографии или просто закрыть глаза и вдохнуть чистый морозный воздух. Время, отведенное на просмотр достопримечательностей, варьируется от 40 минут до нескольких часов.

Всем, кому удается побывать на Байкале зимой, непременно хочется вернуться сюда именно в это время года, ведь где, если не здесь, искать настоящую зимнюю сказку!

 

РАССКАЗАТЬ ДРУЗЬЯМ
Читайте также
pic

Очень удачное местоположение Иркутска дает возможность всем жителям города и туристам совершать захватывающие велосипедные экскурсии-экспедиции, от поездок «выходного дня» до многодневных путешествий. Только к озеру Байкал можно выехать абсолютно разными маршрутами, среди которых одним из самых популярных по праву можно назвать Иркутск – Ольхон.

pic

Лето — время путешествий. Это время года идеально подходит для посещения музеев под открытым небом, парков и садов. В этой статье «Первый Байкальский» собрал подборку таких мест в Иркутской области и Республике Бурятия, которые надо посетить перед тем, как отправиться на Байкал.

pic

Байкал и его окрестности — неисчерпаемая сокровищница для впечатлений. Помимо широко известных туристических мест здесь существуют совершенно особенные места — экологические памятники, где можно встретить уникальные растения и животных, увидеть фантастические пейзажи и погреться в термальных источниках.

pic

Отдыхать на Байкале летом можно по-разному: ценители комфорта бронируют отели. Желающие поправить здоровье выбирают санатории. Но если вы хотите настоящего летнего приключения — путешествуйте с палаткой. Такой способ позволит не только сэкономить деньги, но и откроет удивительные, не тронутые цивилизацией места. Поэтому собирайте рюкзак и в путь! Представляем 10 самых красивых и чистых пляжей Байкала.